When reality finally kicks in . . .

What happens when the shiny glitter of new wears off

When reality finally kicks in . . .

Having just passed three weeks here in Nicaragua, the shiny, newness has begun to wear off. I have transitioned from exciting vacation mode, to this is me living my life mode.

I walk around town without needing to be glued to my GPS. I have developed new friendships with locals and expats here. I know the shopkeepers and regulars up and down the street. And also …I run out of toilet paper, I have to do laundry AGAIN. I feel bored sometimes. I have a to do list for work and personal things that never really gets to zero. Basically, I am navigating all the things we all do, just in a new, inspiring, challenging and amazing location.

New friends and neighbors - I am learning to be vulnerable to connect.

It is when the novelty or emotional charge of change ebbs, or seems to disappear completely, that the real transformation is doing its work.

I think often when we embark on a new effort to improve or explore or change, we can get caught up in that newness. It is a vital part of the process because it distracts us into sticking with it for a while. New Years resolutions are like that. (Though, my advice is to NEVER set those because they are yet another artificial rule or expectation that could set you up for demoralizing failure. Change and new initiatives are allowed to start on a random Wednesday as well and have just a powerful an impact lol)

I have struggled a bit the lat few days - questioning my choices, my progress, my sanity. This is all normal. Frankly, it’s kind of an requirement to make sure you gut check yourself regularly on your own journey. The very act of taking a breath in and letting it out changes us at a molecular level - we are a slightly different person with every breath. In fact, every month or so, we are a completely new organism at a cellular level. Science!

We are always becoming . . .

The same is true when we make a decision or take an action. It is only then sometimes that we can see what the next aligned step for us is. The person we are today may legitimately not be able to see the 37th step down the line because we aren’t yet the person who can see it clearly. So stop getting too worked up about not knowing what steps 2 through 1000 are. Just do the next step.

When we allow ourselves to “become as we go,” we remove the pressure of having to know the exact path and the “how” along the way. Then it can unfold in a way that honors where we are right now.

For me, I have entered into one of those phases to do the gut check. It’s not the most comfortable thing, but I know I won’t die from it. I am giving myself the space, time and grace to be still, to question, to confirm, to change my mind, or do whatever else feels right and supportive to me.

Here is what I know so far. This trip, this journey within a journey, is going to stretch me and challenge me - and fortify my resolve to show up as my authentic self no matter what. I am experiencing my strength and creativity and resilience in a way I haven’t had the opportunity to before. That’s a win!

And also, I learned some basic things about how I like to travel and how I want to live. I am still very drawn to this part of the world. I need to have at least a kitchenette. I need a/c to sleep at night. I am brave enough to make new connections and friends when I travel alone. I won’t do 4 countries in 4 months next winter - I will pick a place for the duration and use it as a home base to take some shorter trips. I really like eating fresh, non-processed food and don’t miss the junk at all. I have a really good tolerance for less available choices, elastic views of time, imperfect service/infrastructure/cleanliness, and bouncing back from surprises and sudden changes of plan or direction. These are all things that will serve me when I return home in the spring - so I am grateful for all of it!

A hammock with a view and random goats on my street - my fave things from the week!

So wherever you are in your own journey know this. You are right where you need to be and you don’t have to know the next 478 steps. You can just concern yourself with the very next one. You also have permission to change your mind whenever you feel like it. And most importantly, you are allowed to have, get, ask for or manifest absolutely whatever lights you up, supports you, brings you comfort, or just plain lets you giggle a little! ;)

Until next time! Be kind to yourself, be curious, and be BRAVE!

—Sharon