You Must Lose Yourself to Find Yourself

Sing it with me! "Let it go, Let it go!!"

The paradox of letting go to have it all

Hola my friends! I have missed you! I have been unplugged and largely off grid for the last week to be fully present at a 6 day retreat that I struggle to find words to adequately describe. So, I’m not really going to attempt it. :)

As I integrate my experience, I know I will share more over the coming weeks. But I wanted to share a few thoughts that were really impactful for me from a mindset perspective. The most important being that it is necessary to let go of old identities, thoughts, beliefs, material items, biases, and “generally accepted knowledge” even to make room for new perspectives and knowing.

This can feel incredibly scary to do because we are wired to cling to what we know - what is familiar - what is comfortable. To open your hands, palms up, to the universe to receive (and lose) whatever comes is a level of vulnerability that takes courage. And yet, it is truly the only path “through the wilderness” so to speak in your personal journey to reclaiming your authentic self.

From a practical perspective (if the woo is getting too woo-ish for you) - it’s not much different than remodeling your home. You can’t really just shove in and tack on new beautiful furnishings and decor on top of the old, tired stuff already there. You clear that stuff out to make room for what is next. Super logical right?

And that is what I was challenged to do during my time at the retreat. We were encouraged to “find our edge” - physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually. It was arguably the most difficult and most beautiful thing I have ever done for myself.

I endured physical extremes through ice plunges and sweat lodges that I had no idea I had the capacity and strength to do. I opened my heart in the most intimate and vulnerable manner I have ever experienced to truly connect with others that was profound and nourishing. I explored my shadow side - all those bits that can be uncomfortable and kinda squinty to look at - through breath work and radical honesty in putting voice to those things so they could be seen, appreciated, shared, and released.

And now I am re-entering the “real world” and spending some time integrating what I felt and what I learned. I know for sure I am forever changed. I have been on a journey of transformation and rediscovery of self for several years now, and only at this moment was I ready for that experience. Everything takes the time it takes. And remember, there is no end point, there is no final destination where you can take credit for fully transforming - it is an iterative process that, if you are living your life most fully and authentically - will continue for the entirety of your life.

When was the last time you explored your edge? Questioned your status quo? Opened yourself up to the vulnerability of true connection? Let go to have it all? If you can’t remember the last time, when will you take a tiny step in doing so now?

Until next time! Be kind to yourself, be curious, and be BRAVE!

—Sharon

I am so grateful for the time you take to read this blog. It means the world to me! I have also made it possible to share a virtual cup of coffee with me if you are so inclined! 😉 ☕️