Connection, Community, and Coming Home

Connection, Community, and Coming Home

I attended my first community event since returning from my travels this week. I was both excited and a bit nervous about it because I had been away for several months and my critter brain was playing the deadly “what if” game. What if I feel like an outsider? What if nobody remembers me? What if I have forgotten how to communicate in a social setting? What if nobody is happy to see me again? You know - all those ridiculous things our inner voices make up that come from a place of fear or insecurity.

The event was the monthly gathering of the Cape Cod Women’s Association (CCWA) - which is a dynamic group of women from an amazing array of backgrounds - business professionals, community activists and volunteers, artisans, retirees, entrepreneurs . . .you get the idea. If you haven’t heard of them or the work they do to support and celebrate women to thrive, please go take a look! (https://ccwacapecod.org)

So with a bit of trepidation, I walked into the event. And the minute I crossed the threshold every single one of those silly, made up fears flew at lightning speed right out the window! I was thrilled to renew my connections with these women, do a little catching up on life and business, give and receive hugs and smiles, and meet even more women that had joined since I left on my travels. I felt so welcomed - and felt a deep sense of belonging. It was an affirmation for me about the importance of connection and community.

Being a part of a physical and/or ideological community (or several) is a vital part of being a human being. We are not solo acts in this wide universe. We need each other. And while each of us are on a journey through life that ultimately only we can take - the communities we surround ourselves with and invest ourselves in are the spiritual and energetic infrastructure that helps us along the path. They provide us with “rootedness.” They can serve as an enthusiastic launching pad for our dreams and a soft, nurturing landing spot when we stumble.

When we open ourselves up to being connected to each other and to building community - we elevate to something greater than ourselves. We gain more empathy, more confidence, more inspiration, more personal power, more strength, more perspective, more joy, more love. We truly are greater than the sum of our parts.

This past week has been a process of reconnecting to my community and my home. My time away has really given me a fresh perspective on how important these things are for a life well-lived. I am grateful for my home and the communities I have the privilege to be a part of. I don’t know that I really had that level of awareness and appreciation before this point in my life. I have been stubbornly independent most of my adult life. To connect with and rely on others is an act of surrender, and surrender used to feel like a weakness. But what I know now is that surrender is one of the greatest strengths we have.

Looking for more ways to connect and go deeper into these topics?

1. I have a podcast! It's called A Brave Journey - Reclaiming Your Identity After 40. I would love to hear what you think - and if you like it, you can subscribe on pretty much any of your favorite podcast platforms like Apple and Spotify.

2. For the first time in quite a long time - I am opening some spaces in my Year-long Journey To Brave and my 12-Week Transformation programs. These are opportunities to go deeper with me one on one to get specific and intentional about reimagining and recurating your own belief system and authentic identity. I have missed this level of connection with you - and if you have been missing it too, reach out!

Until next time! Be kind to yourself, be curious, and be BRAVE!

—Sharon

I am so grateful for the time you take to read this blog. It means the world to me! I have also made it possible to share a virtual cup of coffee with me if you are so inclined! 😉 ☕️